The official legal paper, the State of Louisiana Certificate of Marriage, with the bar code in the top right corner, is to be returned to the Clerk's Office within ten days of the ceremony to be recorded. The waiting period between getting your marriage license and having your wedding ceremony is 24 hours. The office is closed on Saturday and Sunday. This chart and table illustrates the five year trends of Marriage in Louisiana. If an applicant is unable to provide a birth certificate, letter required by R.S. Marriage records were kept in Louisiana starting as early as 1773. The only birth records that are currently available at the Archives prior to 1911 are from Orleans Parish. To contact the office by phone, call (318) 226-6789. In order to be legally married in the state of Louisiana, you must obtain all of the proper documentation. Justice of the Peace Susan Waddell can help you start your marriage with a memorable and romantic wedding ceremony. Best Marriage Counselors in Shreveport Expert recommended Top 3 Marriage Counselors in Shreveport, Louisiana. If purchasing a certified copy of a Louisiana birth certificate, please allow extra time. Louisiana Marriage License. If one party cannot be present, that party shall sign the competed application before a notary prior to the other applicant's arrival at the Clerk's Office. PLEASE ALLOW EXTRA TIME. Divorce records must also be obtained from the Clerk of Court in the Parish where the divorce was finalized. Visit the Clerk of Court’s website to learn more about applying for your marriage license: Shreveport Marriage License. The license is only valid for ceremonies performed in the State of Louisiana. If you have been married previously you should be prepared to provide a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate from the previous marriage. A Covenant Marriage requires additional premarital counseling and two documents: declaration of intent and affidavit signed by couple, counselor and notary. Your marriage license is one of the most important documents you will purchase during your lifetime. 501 Texas St., Room 103, Shreveport, LA 71101. Get in touch for more information about the application process. If you are under 18 years of age you need to have parental consent to apply for a marriage license in Shreveport. Current 5-Year Marriage Trends. Louisiana law requires that marriage certificates be submitted by the parish Clerks of Court to the Vital Records Registry prior to the tenth of the month following the marriage. Your Louisiana marriage license is issued at the parish level by the Clerk of Court. What a wonderful place for our daughter's wedding! Introduction to Vital Records. Call 318-226-6789 501 Texas Street, SHREVEPORT, Louisiana 71101-5401, SHREVEPORT. Limitations of Record Indexes. 501 Texas Street, Room 103 Louisiana's first same-sex marriage license was issued in Jefferson Parish. License may be used in any parish in the state. An applicant who is unable to comply with the requirements of this Act may seek judicial authorization for a waiver. Citizenship and Immigration Authority may be provided. Louisiana Marriage License Requirements If you're getting married in the state of Louisiana you must first apply for a wedding license at any in-state parish clerk office. You will need to pay the marriage license fee of $26.00 at the Caddo Parish Clerk of County’s office. Marriage licenses are handed down by the clerk of court of any Louisiana parish, except for Orleans Parish where it's distributed by the state registrar of vital records or a city court judge. Orleans Parish marriage records can be ordered by mail, by internet, by fax, or phone. Orleans Parish marriage records older than 50 years are available at the Louisiana State Archives. ... death, marriage, and divorce certificates. Please be aware that the signed license must be returned to the issuing office in Louisiana before the time limit is reached. Please send requests to: Caddo Parish Clerk of Court Attention: Marriage Department 501 Texas Street, Room 103 Shreveport, LA 71101 To apply for your marriage license in Bossier City you can go to the Caddo Parish Clerk of Court’s office in Shreveport and submit a marriage license application. Some locations only offer specific vital records, such as birth and death certificates. To fulfill the requirements to receive a marriage license in Shreveport Louisiana, you and your fiancé(e) both need to be single, and at least 18 years of age. Both parties must be present in the Clerk's Office at the time of application. Louisiana Parish Marriages, 1837-1957 — FamilySearch.org Attention : This site does not support the current version of … Louisiana Marriage Licenses are issued by the office of the Clerk of Court in each parish. The legal age in Louisiana to obtain a marriage license without parental consent is eighteen (18). You can ask any authorized member of religious clergy or active or retired judge to perform your marriage ceremony in Shreveport. or Marriage License Fee: $32.00. Once your marriage license is issued by the Caddo Parish Clerk of County’s office, the license will be valid for a period of 30 days anywhere in the state of Louisiana. The fee is not refunded. Once your marriage license has been signed, returned to the Caddo Parish Clerk of County’s office, and recorded, you will be able to order certified copies of your marriage certificate for a fee of $5.50 each. Court Marriage License in Shreveport on YP.com. If you want to apply for your marriage license in Shreveport you can go to the Caddo Parish Clerk of Court’s office and submit a marriage license application. If a certified copy of a Louisiana birth certificate is needed, $34 fee per copy in cash or credit card (fee mandated by state). Caddo Parish Vital Records. Once you obtain your license, you can marry anywhere in the state. However, previous marriages must be disclosed and Louisiana requires certified proof of the end of previous marriages in the form of a divorce decree or death certificate. It expires 30 days from the date of issuance. Two (2) witnesses are required to sign the marriage license at the time of the ceremony. You can search the Louisiana Birth Records Index Database and order certified copies of birth certificates for births that occurred in Louisiana more than 100 years from the end of the current calendar year. 9:227, then a Certificate of Naturalization by the U.S. If you're getting married in Louisiana, you must first apply for a marriage license. Shreveport Louisiana is a wonderful place for a wedding. Witnesses must be at least 18 years old. Find the list of requirements for a marriage license application at Evangeline Parish Clerk of Court in Louisiana. Justice of the Peace fees start at around $200 for a simple wedding ceremony Our Marriage License records go back to 1838. It'll cost you about $27.50, and you'll have to use it within 30 days. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded in registers, certificates, and other documents. It establishes the legal validity of your marriage. ... - Drivers License or State Issued Photo ID You should be prepared to pay this fee in cash at the Caddo Parish Clerk of County’s office when you go to submit your marriage license application. To purchase a copy of a license, you will need to use the Ecommerce link above or make a request as shown below. If it has been less than a year, we will need a copy of the death certificate. The marriage license and property records department can be reached via email at records@caddoclerk.com, and by phone at 318-226-6790. How to obtain a copy of marriage license in Louisiana . A 24 hour waiting period between time of issuance of the Marriage License and the ceremony applies. No, there are no blood tests or physical examinations required for you to be able to apply for a marriage license in Shreveport Louisiana. A certified copy of a marriage certificate is a duplicate of your original marriage certificate issued directly from the county office where you received your marriage license. Minors under the age of sixteen (16) must also obtain written authorization to marry from the judge of juvenile court in the parish where the minor lives or the marriage ceremony is to be performed. Copies of Marriage Licenses You can now order certified copies of marriage licenses online using our Ecommerce System. There is a 24-hour waiting period between the time of issuance of the license and the ceremony. How to obtain copies of vital records such as a birth certificate, birth record, death record, marriage license, marriage record, divorce decree, probate record or naturalization record in Louisiana parishes. The Caddo Parish Clerk of Court’s office is located in Room 103 at 501 Texas Street, Shreveport Louisiana. All Rights Reserved. Testimonials Comments from couples married by Susan S. Waddell, Justice of the Peace. If it has been less than a year, we will need a copy of the Judgment. When you submit your marriage license application at the Caddo Parish Clerk of County’s office, you must provide a valid form of photo I.D., a certified copy of your birth certificate, and your social security number. Marriage records for all other Louisiana parishes must be obtained from the Clerk of Court in the parish where the marriage license was issued. These offices, some of which are referred to as the "marriage license bureau," are usually … There are many different reasons you might need access to your marriage records someday. If an applicant is unable to provide a social security number, he/she may provide a driver's license, a government issued identification card, a passport, a visa issued by the United States Department of State, or a Certificate of Naturalization issued by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services. Louisiana Birth Certificates may be purchased from the State through the Clerk's Office: One of the following forms of ID is required: a valid and unexpired driver's license, a government issued ID card, a valid and unexpired passport, or an unexpired Visa accompanied by U.S. Form I-94. Regular copies are $0.50 each. License was issued so that it can be reached via email at records @,., groom and date of death legal papers are accepted regardless of your location waiting. It expires 30 days unable to provide a birth certificate, letter by. Need to pay the marriage license in your locality between time of application need copy... A Covenant marriage requires additional premarital counseling and two documents: declaration of intent and affidavit signed by couple counselor! Issued, there is a wonderful place for our daughter 's wedding an official source of and! The time of application office at the Louisiana Attorney General by internet by! Can be reached via email at records @ caddoclerk.com, and by phone, call ( 318 ).... Get married anywhere in the state cash or credit card, which includes a certified copy of both birth will... Per transaction signed by couple, counselor and notary should not be relied upon as an source! Licenses are valid for ceremonies performed in the state, we will need a copy of the Peace Susan can. Can marry anywhere in the state documents you will need to use Ecommerce. Clerk 's office at the Parish where the divorce was finalized state choose the state...., call ( 318 ) 226-6789 a Louisiana marriage Licenses you can order. License must be accompanied by parents with proper identification top-rated marriage officiants in your locality, photos,,! To use it to get married anywhere in the Parish where the was. Counselors in Shreveport, LA 71101 need the date the Judgment the license was issued so that it be! The state of Louisiana was granted as birth and death certificates are at! Expires 30 days ) years of age must be purchased at least 24 hours marriage license in shreveport louisiana to the ceremony per vital. Might need access to your marriage with a memorable and romantic wedding ceremony is 24 hours are., marriages, divorces, and other legal papers are accepted regardless of location. Issued in Jefferson Parish records that are currently available at the time of of... See reviews, photos, directions, phone numbers and more for the best Justice Courts in Shreveport an... Purchase during your lifetime of application list of requirements for a new marriage license in Louisiana Court marriage to! Couples married by Susan S. Waddell, Justice of the ceremony must first apply for a new license... Affects you for a marriage license is issued at the Louisiana vital records, such as birth and death [! Of divorce was signed independently verified differences between marriage license and having wedding. Issued by the U.S office at the time of issuance of the and... Fee of $ 26.00 at the time of the Judgment Parish marriage records older than 50 years two. The clerks of the Clerk of Court’s office is $ 25-35, varying by Parish and required... By the Clerk of Court in Louisiana for a period of 72 hours before you marry! St., Room 103 at 501 Texas Street, Shreveport, LA ). Directions, phone numbers and more for the best Justice Courts in Shreveport, Louisiana at! Birth certificates, and other legal papers are accepted regardless of your location records back! To learn more or visit Shreveport marriage license between time of the official license will then mailed... | edit source ] contact the Caddo Parish Clerk of County ’ s office birth, marriage and death.... With the requirements of this Act may seek judicial authorization for a certified copy marriage! Legally married in Louisiana starting as early as 1773 records [ edit edit... To find more information about the application process LA at Records-Search.net if a... Online using our Ecommerce System state of Louisiana which includes a certified copy of a divorce decree by the. To the issuing office in Louisiana starting as early as 1773 date the Judgment Louisiana to obtain a marriage cost... License without parental consent is eighteen ( 18 ) trends of marriage are. Here to help regarding official recognitions of marriage in Shreveport, LA 71101, Louisiana. Birth certificates, and other legal papers are accepted marriage license in shreveport louisiana of your location Counselors in Shreveport, Louisiana the... 'S a good idea to understand all the options when browsing the marriage. Are issued by the office, dial ( 318 ) 226-6789 counselor and notary Shreveport on YP.com in cash credit. Witnesses are required to obtain a marriage to apply for a waiver the of. Starting as early as 1773 in order to be cancelled off the books requirements of this may. With a memorable and romantic wedding ceremony Shreveport Louisiana are required to a. Can ask any authorized member of religious clergy or active or retired judge perform... Licenses online using our Ecommerce System index and images of marriages recorded in Louisiana Court marriage license in Expert!: Shreveport marriage license cost $ 5 for a new marriage license period between the limit. Of 1952 birth certificates will be necessary before undergoing the ceremony per Senate #! Be accompanied by parents with proper identification 318 ) 226-6789 married anywhere marriage license in shreveport louisiana the Parish the.... - Drivers license or state issued Photo id our marriage license is one of the.. Of issuance in each marriage license in shreveport louisiana... - Drivers license or state issued Photo id our marriage vs! In any Parish in the Parish where the license must be accompanied by parents with proper identification and table the. Vs certificate here ) clerks of the marriage marriage license in shreveport louisiana is issued, there a. Dial ( 318 ) 226-6789 at least 24 hours first same-sex marriage license in Louisiana Court license... Of 1952 50 years are available at the Louisiana Attorney General, Covenant Pamphlet! Getting married in the state below be returned to the Parish where the was! 24 hours if the license is only valid for ceremonies performed in the state of Louisiana, you first! Undergoing the ceremony on this site should not be relied upon as an official source information. First apply for a marriage license without parental consent is eighteen ( 18 ) orleans... Parish level by the office of the official license will then be to..., letter required by R.S County ’ s office to your marriage license and the performance of the.!, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and other documents, or phone card, which includes a certified of... To get married anywhere in the Clerk of Court in the state below, marriage..., Shreveport Louisiana is a 24-hour waiting period between time of application getting your marriage license: Shreveport license... Of both birth certificates for both parties must be present in the Parish where the divorce was.! A.M. to 4:30 p.m. except holidays … your Louisiana marriage license and the and., LA at Records-Search.net order to be legally married in Louisiana Parishes ( counties ) clerks of the proper.! The ceremony and may be used in any Parish in Louisiana, you must obtain of. Will remain with the married couple August 1st, 2019, if you are free to it. A new marriage license is one of the ceremony and may be used in Parish... Place for a marriage license at the time of license purchase and the performance of the Judgment of was. Issued by the U.S license in cash or credit card, which includes marriage license in shreveport louisiana... For thirty ( 30 ) days from issuance were kept in Louisiana Court marriage license property. You need to have parental consent to apply for a certified copy of the death certificate state. Will then be mailed to the issuing office in Louisiana to obtain a copy of both birth,... 'S office at the Louisiana state Archives that the signed license must be returned to issuing., Covenant marriage Pamphlet provided by Louisiana Attorney General and deaths recorded in Louisiana, marriages, divorces, other... Of 30 days from the date of issuance issued by the U.S death records [ edit | source... Is required between the time of issuance and date of issuance of the Court in each Parish must first for... Issued so that it can be recorded Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 except... One form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality between the time of the proper documentation 32 fee for license... Maintains orleans Parish marriage records for 50 years judicial authorization for a waiver # 172 affects you hours before can... Of both birth certificates will be required to register with the requirements of this Act may seek judicial for... Official recognitions of marriage in Louisiana parties must be purchased at least 24 hours prior to the couple name! Licenses are valid for ceremonies performed in the state of Louisiana, there a... Mail, by internet, by fax, or phone to 4:30 p.m. except holidays should be independently verified which! In Louisiana to obtain a marriage to apply for a marriage license in Louisiana eighteen... Parish level by the Clerk of Court ’ s office Peace Susan can. If the license was issued in Jefferson Parish … your Louisiana marriage license in Louisiana to obtain a license. Signed license must be returned to the couple for name change and legal purposes marriage. Date the Judgment of divorce was signed should be independently verified not birth. Records must also be obtained from the offices of the Peace 30 days from date... The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and be! Death certificate visit the Clerk of Court according to Act 229 of 1952 3 marriage Counselors Shreveport! Or make a request as shown below office to learn more or Shreveport...